Tuesday, May 25, 2010

Tina Fey Awarded Mark Twain Prize for American Humour

Congratulations to SNL alum Tina Fey who has been awarded the most prestigious Mark Twain Prize for American Humour. Fey will be honoured November 9 at the Kennedy Center at a ceremony which will see a host of other artists take part. The ceremony will be taped to be broadcast at a later date. 
Kennedy Center Chairman David M. Rubenstein stated, "Like Mark Twain, Tina Fey offers her brilliance unconditionally. Throughout her career, she's earned legions of fans for her quick, unapologetic wit and social commentary. The Kennedy Center is pleased to celebrate her broad and successful contributions to the world of comedy."
In stating her delight at receiving said award, Fey said, "I am truly thrilled to receive this honor. I assume Betty White was disqualified for steroid use."
Past recipients of the Mark Twain Prize include distinguished luminaries such as George Carlin, Neil Simon, Steve Martin, Billy Crystal, Whoopi Goldberg, Lorne Michaels, Lily Tomlin, Carl Reiner, Bob Newhart, Jonathan Winters and Richard Pryor. Fey becomes the youngest recipient of the awards.

No comments: